Lists and Curiosities

The countries who had the most titles in the FIFA World Cup

Despite the participation of so many different countries over these 92 years, only 8 countries have ever been world champions.


We are in another year of the World Cup. And as the most watched sport in the world, there is a lot of expectation regarding the performance of the world’s best national teams.

There will be 32 teams competing for the cup, on which the name of the winning country will be engraved.

To get an idea of the popularity of this competition, during the tournament in 2018, an estimated 1.1 billion spectators were watching the championship final. That is 14% of the entire human race currently alive on Earth.

Despite the participation of so many different countries over these 92 years, only 8 countries have won titles. And to remember the national teams that have already won the world title, we bring you a list of the countries and the respective number of trophies they hold.

6. Uruguay

Uruguay had the honor of winning the first world cup. And even more special, it was also the first country to host the tournament.

In 1930, in their own country, the Uruguayan team won the title of playing against Argentina. The final score was 4-2.

The best soccer players right now, who are they?

Right now, all eyes are into some of these artists. This is the list where we tried to show some of the best soccer players right now.

The second Uruguayan title came from the competition that took place in Brazil in 1950. The final match was at the Maracanã stadium, in Rio de Janeiro, playing against the hosts, the Brazilian team.

The score was 2-1 with goals by Juan Alberto Schiaffino and Alcides Ghiggia, with the second goal coming almost at the end of the second half.

5. France

Also with two titles, but a bit more recent than Uruguay, the French team became champions in 1998, and the second title came in 2018. France is therefore the current world champion.

Like Uruguay, France won its first title at home. The opponent was Brazil and the score was 3-0.

In 2018, the opponent was Croatia, a team seeking its first world title. But France asserted its favoritism and won its second title, with a score of 4-2. The match was held in Moscow, Russia.

4. Argentina

The Argentine squad also has two titles. It repeated the history of the previous teams: it won its first title playing at home, in 1978. The opposing team was the Netherlands, which to this day has not won any title.

The match ended in a draw and had to be decided in extra time, in which Argentina won the title by scoring two more goals.

In 1986, playing in Mexico, at the Estadio Azteca, against West Germany, Argentina won with a score of 3-2.

3. Italy

With 4 titles, Italy is one of the favorites whenever it participates in the World Cup. Its first title was in 1934, at home, playing in Rome. The opponent was Czechoslovakia and the score was 2-1 after extra time.

In the next competition, in 1928, Italy was the favorite and beat Hungary at the Stade de Colombes, Paris. The score was 4-2

In 1982, 44 years after the last title, Italy won its third championship. This time in Spain. The opponent was the West Germany team, and the score was 3-1. 

The most recent title was in 2006, in Germany.

2. Germany

Also with four titles, Germany is one of the favorites in this competition. The first title was in 1954, in Switzerland. The opponent was Hungary. The final score was 3-2.

In 1974, the German national team won the title at home, in Munich. The opponent was the Netherlands. The game ended 2-1, with goals by Breitner and Müller.

Playing against Argentina in 1990 in Italy, the modest score was 1-0, but exciting, as the title was won late in the second half with a penalty goal scored by Brehme.

The German team’s most recent title was won in 2014 in Brazil against Argentina again. The tense match ended with the German victory with a goal scored in extra time. Goal by Götze.      

1. Brazil

The greatest champion in the history of World Cups in Brazil. With 5 titles, this is undoubtedly the most awaited team by spectators around the world. The first title was won in Switzerland. Score: 5×2, with goals by Vavá, Pelé, and Zagallo.

In 1962, the title was won in Chile. The score was 3×1.

In 1970, against Italy, Brazil won its third title in Mexico. Another loose score in a grand final: 4×1. Pele scored the first goal.

In 1994, in the United States, Brazil was crowned four-time champion. The opponent was again Italy.

Brazil’s most recent title was won in 2022, in Japan. The opponent was Germany and both goals were scored by Ronaldo, one of the most famous Brazilian players of all time.

So, which team do you think will win this year?

About the author  /  Marcelo Lopes


Trending Topics


Hobby Lobby worker review – $33,862 per year as an average salary!

Hobby is a very interesting place to work, with an excellent salary range as well as a good chunk of benefits. Take a look!

Keep Reading

Becoming an AEDC worker – Salaries up to ₦152,302 on average!

AEDC plays a crucial role regarding infrastructure alongside amazing worker benefits. Check out our full review!

Keep Reading

Here are some ways to make money relatively fast

Sometimes what we need is to make some cash and fast. Here are some ways you can begin to win money in some short time.

Keep Reading

You may also like


These are some stocks that Ray Dalio has been betting on

Legendary Ray Dalio has some stocks and ETFs up his sleeve. check out in this article some of the options that he has.

Keep Reading

Social Security: When August 2022 Benefits Will Be Sent

Check all the dates that the social security benefits payments for the month of August will be sent and avoid not receiving your money!

Keep Reading

SGS worker review

If you want to work for a company that is synonymous with quality and good work, you should be looking at our review on SGS South Africa!

Keep Reading